A Dirty Dozen

Late night greetings from the East Coast,

A dirty dozen. That’s the phrase that comes to mind when I try to fathom the remainder of my semester. I’ve got twelve, already-busy days left. I hate to break it to myself, but that’s not very many hours, and many of those minutes are still to be filled with school assignments, packing, cooking, working and sleeping. Soon—too soon?—I will return to, dare I say, the monotony of Langley life. (Sorry, Langley. It’s not your fault.)

I will no longer spend forty minutes, everyday, walking the rough brick sidewalks that have won the battle to destroy my shoes. I will no longer lug my groceries the 1.2 miles from Safeway’s registers to my fourth-floor kitchen. I will no longer sleep against drafty windows, take showers in a tub filled with other girls’ hair, or find the stovetop burners on when no one else is home.

In many ways, life will be easier.

But I will also miss seeing the Washington Monument on the skyline each morning. I will miss guessing which tourists are American, and which are European (hint: colored pants on men is usually a European give-away). I will miss the clear skies 28 days of the month, and the torrential downpours on the other two or three. I will miss living with 39 amazing, unique men and women of God.

These are the things that made city-life worthwhile.

And yet some things will be the same. I will still have a group of amazing (and even better!) friends. I will still have a great school (Trinity Western topped Canadian schools again this year!) with some of the very best professors. And I will still have a wild group of elementary kids waiting for me at my home church.

Speaking of Sunday School, I think my DC church cleared my police background check, because they have switched things up. For most of the semester’s Sundays I have been an assistant with the 2 and 3 year olds. We usually have between 15 and 20 children, and there are two or three teachers to handle the masses. Last Sunday, however, I was trapped, alone, with 10 two-year-olds in a small room. As the coordinators ran, they yelled to me: “Teach them something about Jesus and friendship!”

I think I mostly redefined the meaning of “Jesus wept.” You’ll notice that verse comes after He said, “Let the children come to me.”

In actuality, we made butterflies out of tissues and band-aids, then ran around the room chasing each other. In the words of W.C. Fields, an American comedian:

If at first you don’t succeed, try, try again. Then quit. There is no point in being a damn fool about it.

In other words, I’m leaving the city and returning to elementary-aged churchgoers.

I had a really wonderful Thanksgiving. Elizabeth, my program’s overall assistant, welcomed me and three other ASP students to her home for a full-blown meal. It was her first time cooking a Thanksgiving feast, so I think she invited people who would eat it regardless. We had turkey, green bean casserole, croissants, dinner rolls, sweet potatoes with marshmallows and granola, mashed potatoes, and an assortment of pies—pumpkin, apple and pecan. All were praiseworthy.

And since Thanksgiving has come and gone, I have been busy decorating our little apartment with printer paper! Snowflakes, paper chains, even a Christmas tree are part of the hodge-podge, student decor. In other words, our apartment looks tackier and more festive than it did three days ago.

To take ya’ll back a Season and a season, my little town of Bethlehem was attacked, but none of my home-stay family was hurt. I’ve put in an video-interview with someone from the Bethlehem Bible College, which I have personally visited. They helped place me in my Christian home-stay. This man is being interviewed on one of the main streets of Bethlehem. In the distance, you will be able to see the Wall, which is the massive, concrete retainer to keep Palestinians out of Israel. If nothing else, this will provide an alternative perspective on the Gaza-Israel conflict. It is not as simple as our news makes it appear.

Well, it is late here (why must I ALWAYS write posts late at night, and when I have homework due??). I am going to call a spade a spade, and recognize that this is a rather melancholy post, excluding the occasional hilarious comments brought to you by me. I will try to write again soon.

Much love, and Merry Christmas!
– Em

p.s. I’ll try to post photos this week. I’m too lazy to move them onto my computer right now.

p.p.s. This is my favorite Christmas song right now.

 

Livin'

4 thoughts on “A Dirty Dozen

  1. Hi Girl, loved the update.
    Adventrue always has a beginning and an end. Otherwise you could not start the next adventure.
    Looking forward to hearing the stories when I see you at Christmas.
    Love ya

  2. HI Beauty Babe in Far away Political Land of D.C. I really like this new phraise :
    If at first you don’t succeed, try, try again. Then quit. There is no point in being a damn fool about it.
    That prettty much sums up my efforts at my major remodel that’s been going on here for some months now! I am about to start a new list (trying again) of incompleted idtems so hopefully will have more things done by time you arrive for Christmas. Keep Safe : Love Gpa Z

  3. Emily, We’ve enjoyed your blog. You are such a creative writer. Because of his bronchitis Grampa Dan couldn’t read them for a period of time – it made him laugh so hard that it set off a coughing spell. He’s better now after about 10 weeks.

    Have a great Christmas with your family.
    Love,
    Gramma Helen

  4. Ok girl! I started giggling in class at the sunday school portion of this post and then made eye contact with Emma across the room – I actually had to stop reading and do deep breathing so I didn’t dissolve into giggles right then and there and get kicked out of class. You TRULY have a gift of wit in written word!

Questions, Comments, Replies or Discussion?

